Save yourself, son. I’m already dead

English: Photograph of a guard at the Tomb of ...

English: Photograph of a guard at the Tomb of the Unknowns at Arlington National Cemetery, taken by RebelAt, August 6th, 2006. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

So I see that the servicemen guarding the Tomb of the Unknowns are planning to stand their ground against Hurricane Sandy.  They would stand guard as they have done since 1948.  Dedication or folly?

 

If I happened to be one of the unknowns and a serviceman who happened to be my son was to say to me, ‘Daddy, there’s a hurricane approaching but I won’t leave you here.  I’ll stay with you no matter what.”  I would reply with, “Shut the hell up and get your ass out of here, you damn fool!  I am done for and you have a young family to live for.  Beat it, son!”

 

What if he insists on staying by my side while the storm approaches? “Daddy, I have been with you since 1948 and there’s no way I am going to leave you now, hurricane or not.”  In my dead mind, I would think, ‘Boy, your mama didn’t raise no fool so shut up with that crap.  I’m dead, you hear me? DEAD!  There’s nothing you can do for me now except save your own life.  You could come back after the hurricane, I ain’t going nowhere. By the way, why the hell are you carrying a gun?  Grave robbers?”

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Save yourself, son. I’m already dead

  1. And yet, I hope they do stay – dedication, honor, the best of all of us. (I would at the same time hope that if conditions became life threatening they would take the necessary actions to ensure their protection and survival.)

Leave a Reply

