Stressed at work? Write your boss a blog

Last week I was stressed out at work.  Too much on my plate, too little training and too many expectations.  I was at my breaking point. Ready to hurl something.  Then I decided to write my boss a blog.

Ok, it wasn’t exactly a blog. I wrote him an email letting him know exactly how I was feeling.  I was not rude or anything.  He understood, or at least he made a good game of pretending to understand how I felt and even scheduled a sit-down with me.  It never happened because he was too busy but you know what? The next day I felt much better! No stress.  Why?

Well the fact that my boss did not think it was an emergency that I was losing my state of sanity made me put things in perspective.  If it wasn’t important to him that I did my work with 100% efficiency, why should it be to me? Well except that I hold myself to a higher standard than most…So I calmed down and man, do I ever feel good! I go to work and I do what I can and save the rest for the next day.  I don’t worry about the stuff that’s not completed. My boss doesn’t.  Well unless he gets crap from his boss then the shit rolls downhill and then the emergency switch gets hit.

So if you are feeling like there’s too much on your plate and you are close to snapping, don’t.  Sit down and write your boss a blog.

4 thoughts on “Stressed at work? Write your boss a blog

Leave a Reply

