Thinking Happy Thoughts. :)

English: An anxious person

English: An anxious person (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So in the last few days,  I was/am going through some anxiety issues. Most likely from my ever-increasing workload at work.  And no, not the ‘old lady’ I blogged about.  I am learning to cope with her and NO! no more dreams either.  You don’t know what I’m talking about? Read about the old lady here.

Anyways, I have always had the impression that I have a very strong mind and can close off any negative or harmful thoughts just like that. Bam! Door closed.  So when I felt my first anxiety attack coming on, I sought to remedy the situation by thinking happy thoughts.  Plus, I had just read a blog that suggested the very same thing.  It was a sure-cure.  To overcome stress and anxiety, think happy thoughts. So I did. Or I tried to.

My kids are my happy trigger so quite naturally I immediately decided to use them as my therapy.  The thoughts that came to my head were not of the happy variety. I thought of the screams and the fights and the stubbornness and the cries and the whines and the…you get the picture.  Five minutes later, I was stressed out even more and had a headache.

Hmm…well the wife is my joy so why not try her? So I did.  Did you do the dishes? Was the first thought that came to my head.  Did you bathe the kids? Clean the house? Wash the car? Take a shower? Change the light bulbs?...I shut her off too before more damage could be done.  Wow! This is harder than I thought. Not to mention stressful.

Last ditch effort.  I figured I’d think of those great memories of my youth.  Aha! That should work.  Well it should but it didn’t.  I thought of the times we couldn’t afford to eat and I had to go hungry. Wearing pants with holes.  Touching my female friends inappropriately.  (Omit).  Touching my male friends inappropriately. (Omit that one too). I remembered a lot of stuff that should have stayed forgotten.  In the end, no success.

Back to square one.  So after futile efforts trying to conjure up some happy thoughts, I admitted defeat and realized that somehow, my well of happy thoughts had dried up.

😦

Leave a Reply

