Tuesday’s Thoughts: Nelson Mandela, The South African Phoenix

A great man died today. RIP Mandela! True Hero!

My Takes

I admit, I do not know enough about Mr. Nelson Mandela.  As a little boy growing up in the Caribbean, Mandela’s name was second to God.  Who was this man?  I grew up hearing chants of  ‘Free Mandela!’ from Calypso singers, reggae greats and poets.  Even the legend,  Bob Marley sang about him.  Our school books talked about him.  To my ignorant mind, he was God-like.

I was told that he fought against the apartheid system that ruled his country and was imprisoned because of it. That’s all I knew.  In a nutshell.   A black man was jailed for fighting racism in his country and we wanted him freed.  The world wanted him freed.  Even the white people!  He must be a great man!  Every kid needs a hero and I had found mine.  “Free Mandela!”.  I too picked up the chant.  “End Apartheid!”  I started chanting long before…

View original post 421 more words

One thought on “Tuesday’s Thoughts: Nelson Mandela, The South African Phoenix

  1. Pingback: NELSON MANDELA E’ MORTO: COME L’EX PRESIDENTE DEL SUDAFRICA INFLUENZO’ IL NORD IRLANDA | The Five Demands

Leave a Reply

