The Token Black Guy

Did I tell you I had a new job? Well I did and if I didn’t then it probably wasn’t your business anyways. But yes, I did. And out of over 200 employees in the big office of this big company, I happen to be the only black guy. Or gal. Or thing.

Am I complaining? Heck no! I love the attention. All of a sudden I’m the cool dude in the workplace.  I can just see the husbands and boyfriends telling their girlfriends and wives about this cool black guy who is working with them. Or vice versa.  Now I’m not sure if I am the token black guy or what happened to the others, if there were others. Lynched? Just kidding! Why the serious face?

Anyways, I want you to remain tight-lipped on this.  I don’t want the good reverend Jesse Jackson and that other guy there, hmm… can’t remember his name, showing up at my work screaming racism. No sir. I am enjoying my new-found status. I am loving this.  Don’t hate!

Leave a Reply

